Chattering Magpie About the Magpie
this way to www.treith.com
Chattering Magpie About the Magpie
Bookmark
  Best of ... Essays KnittingPhotos The Magpie Suggests About the Magpie Site directory

Quick Directory
about
photohistory
weight watch

current web log
site directory


100 things about the Chattering Magpie
Participate in the 100 things project. Deadline: Nov 23 2002.
  1. My middle name is Jo.
  2. I really like beets.
  3. My favorite color is red.
  4. I was born a blonde.
  5. These days my hair color comes out of a bottle.
  6. I was conceived in Idaho in the attic of a house belonging to an Episcopalian priest.
  7. I am short.
  8. I was in a youth circus, 1974-1976.
  9. I took tap dancing from age 6 to age 12.
  10. There are some things I won't write about on my web site.
  11. I met my husband in a bar.
  12. When we were kids and played role-playing games, I nearly always took a male role.
  13. I was often the peacemaker in childhood disputes in my neighborhood.
  14. One-quarter mile from where I grew up, there is a cemetery and in that cemetery is a large monument stone with my family name on it.
  15. I learned to knit in 4-H.
  16. I like digging up weeds.
  17. As a little girl I did not like dolls, much to my mother's consternation.
  18. I didn't like dresses, either. Ditto.
  19. As a young girl I made a conscious decision to not be intimidated by mechanical things.
  20. I'm a pretty good speller.
  21. I nonetheless rely on dictionary.com
  22. In the summer of 1983 I rebuilt a Volkswagen engine, with some help.
  23. A woman seeing me working on my VW proclaimed me "A woman of the '80s."
  24. I taught English at the YMCA in Gaoxiung (Kaohsiung) Taiwan in 1984.
  25. While in Taiwan I was exposed to Hepatitis C.
  26. I gave blood after returning from Taiwan and before being diagnosed as having the anti-bodies for Hep C.
  27. I can no longer give blood.
  28. I raised beef cattle and sheep as 4-H projects.
  29. I still remember the 4-H pledge.
  30. I remember an alphabet-based memory game we played on a field trip in 1980.
  31. I have never smoked ... tobacco.
  32. I struggle with my weight.
  33. 1996 was the year I began learning kung-fu.
  34. I support OPB.
  35. My favorite animal growing up was the beaver.
  36. I admired beavers because they had a work ethic.
  37. I collect children's books and folk stories.
  38. I hate shopping for clothes - or just about anything else for that matter.
  39. I have a hard time remembering the names of people I have just met.
  40. I like Asian food.
  41. I like to save money.
  42. By nature, I am a gullible person.
  43. To compensate for my natural gullibility, I have developed a shell of cynicism.
  44. It doesn't always work, though.
  45. My mother cut my hair in a pixie shag when I was little.
  46. I hated that hair cut.
  47. I have two half-brothers and one half-sister.
  48. I have two real brothers.
  49. I consider my adoptive family my real family.
  50. My older brother is also adopted, whereas my younger brother is not.
  51. My younger brother and I resemble each other, despite not being birth-related.
  52. I do not have children, nor do I wish to.
  53. My husband feels the same.
  54. I like it when my friends have children.
  55. I can touch my chin to my knee by bending over (not lifting my knee to my chin).
  56. I have always been pretty flexible.
  57. The most I have ever weighed is 161 lbs.
  58. I'm embarrassed I weighed that much.
  59. I made my own headpiece when I got married, using roses my husband had given me, which I had dried and shellacked .
  60. On my wedding day I finished knitting a sweater I planned to take with on honeymoon.
  61. We honeymooned in Boston and Montreal.
  62. I refused to move in with my husband before we got married, in part because I couldn't face my elderly relatives who would have disapproved.
  63. I like animals better than people.
  64. I consider it an honor when a small child appears to like me.
  65. I am fundamentally shy.
  66. I have created my own Christmas cards since 1986.
  67. I still think the first Christmas card I made is one of the best.
  68. The first car I drove was the family's '66 Chrysler New Yorker.
  69. As a child I entertained fantasies of persecution by other members of my family. Or witches.
  70. My childhood bedroom doubled as our guest bedroom.
  71. I always dressed up for Christmas dinner, even though the rest of the family didn't.
  72. I am a registered Democrat.
  73. My favorite class in high school was chemistry.
  74. I graduated fourth in my high school class.
  75. My least favorite class in high school was gym.
  76. I initiated a search for my birth family when I turned the age my (adoptive) parents were when I was born.
  77. I have been using Adobe Illustrator since version 1.1.
  78. I have won a trophy and medals for sparring and forms in martial arts tournaments.
  79. The martial arts tournaments I have competed in were very small.
  80. My martial arts-related injuries include a broken nose and a separated shoulder.
  81. I adore puzzles of all kinds.
  82. We have a subscription to New Yorker magazine.
  83. I like fruit and berries of all kinds.
  84. My hair has been cut short most of my adult life.
  85. I am impressed by cleverness.
  86. I balance my checkbook every month.
  87. I pay my credit card balances every month.
  88. Only once or twice have I ever been charged interest on a credit card.
  89. My ears are double-pierced.
  90. I first encountered an unusual body piercing in the summer of 1983.
  91. I think the punk look is retro.
  92. I like men with a slightly Asian look.
  93. Over twenty years ago I devised a name-hyphenation scheme for couples whose individual surnames are already hyphenated.
  94. I like cheesy movies with great special effects.
  95. I dislike "chick flicks", especially ones where the daughter dies.
  96. Not only do I dream in color, I experience all physical senses and sensations dreaming.
  97. In 1976 I saw six movies. Five of them were "Star Wars".
  98. I think "Babylon 5" is a better, more "realistic" TV series than any of the "Star Trek" series.
  99. Growing up, I owned more books than the rest of my family combined.
  100. I need a job.